On November 20, 2018, the Institute of Aviation hosted a delegation from the European Space Agency and the Ministry of Entrepreneurship and Technology. The main guest of the visit was the ESA General Director, Mr. Johann-Dietrich Wӧrner. This is the first visit of the director of the most important European space institution at the Institute of Aviation.

The purpose of the visit of the ESA delegation in Poland was to visit selected R&D entities in which ESA projects are implemented.

6 projects of the European Space Agency are currently being implemented at the Institute of Aviation:

  • Pre-qualification of aluminum-free solid propellant
  • Assessment of High Performance Green Propellants
  • High Temperature Oxidation-Proof Advanced Structures for Future Rocket Engines
  • Catalyst bed for 1N class HTP thruster
  • Green Reignitable Throttleable Engine Study
  • Hydrogen Peroxide Storability/Compatibility Study

During the meeting with the management and representatives of the Center of Space Technologies, ESA delegates got acquainted with the activities of the Institute of Aviation in the field of satellite and rocket propulsion technologies, remote sensing and composite technologies. They also participated in the tour to laboratories.

The Institute’s representatives presented progress in the field of development of engines for bi-component liquid propellants using hydrogen peroxide as an oxidant and the results of work on satellite deorbits engines. The ESA Director General confirmed the importance of these projects to the Agency and to the entire European industry.

The ESA delegation was represented by: Mr. Johann-Dietrich Wӧrner – Director General, Mr. Kai-Uwe Schroegl – Chief Strategy Officer, Ms. Chiara Manfletti – Advisor, Ms. Cristina Gianopappa – Political Affairs Manager and Ms. Maria-Gabriel Sarah – Risk Coordinator at the Department of Strategic Planning and Control.

The Ministry of Entrepreneurship and Technology was represented by: Mr. Robert Nowicki – Deputy Director in the Innovation Department and Ms. Anna Nałęcz-Kobierzycka – Head of the Space Policy Department in the Innovation Department.

Spread the love