The Institute of Aviation hosted the participants of the “Poland in space” conference. It is the third edition of the biggest conference aimed at space sector in Poland. The invited guests discussed on the condition and future of Polish space sector. The conference was held on 26-27 November 2015.

The first day of the conference brought together nearly 160 participants, among whom were directors of leading Polish scientific institutes, scientists and engineers, representatives of associations and organizations related to the space sector in Poland and representatives of business and administration. Conference speakers gave presentations on the benefits and prospects of space exploration, participation and success of Polish scientists in prestigious space missions, partnership of science, business and policy issues of Poland, Europe and world. The speakers of the Institute of Aviation were: professor Piotr Wolański, Leszek Loroch PhD Eng., Natalia Zalewska PhD, Marcin Gawroński MSc. Eng. and Jan Kotlarz.

Session of papers was completed with the panel discussion, which focused on the theme of Polish space policy challenges . The discussion was attended by: Gen. Lech Majewski (Polish Space Agency), Marcin Szołucha PhD (Military Academy of Technology), Mariusz Andrzejczak PhD (Creotech Instruments S.A.), Beata Mikołajek-Zielińska (Ministry of Science and Higher Education), Jacek Kosiec (Creotech Instruments S.A.), Leszek Loroch PhD Eng. (Institute of Aviation), Paweł Wojtkiewicz (Polish Space Industry Association), Tomasz Zawistowski (SpaceCase Sp. z.o.o) and Stanisław Dyrda PhD (National Centre for Research and Development).

The second day of the conference began with the next sessions of papers devoted to NGO’s and their influence on the shaping of the space sector in Poland, student projects and space business.

The organizers of the conference were: Fundacja Wspierania Polskiej Astronautyki „Pociąg do gwiazd”, the Institute of Aviation and the Space Research Centre of the Polish Academy of Sciences. The honorary patronage was held by the Ministry of Science and Higher Education.

Spread the love